April 2011

April 26,2011 Meeting of the Tompkins County Fire and EMS Chiefs Association

Meeting called to order at 19:00 by President Down

Motion by T. Lobdell, 2nd by G. Tamborelle to accept minutes from last meeting

Treasurers Report:
Departments contributed to ID tag system at $500 each:
Brooktondale, Cayuga Heights, Danby, Freeville, Lansing, McLean, Slaterville Fire, Slaterville Ambulance, W. Danby
Verbal from Ithaca, Aetna and Groton
Monies received: $10,185.00, Ending balance $13,868.93
General Fund: $773.93
FF1 supplies: $600.00
ID System donation: $12,495.00
CD: $11,352.36

Brian Wilbur presented a synopsis of his goals and expectations for the future in his new role of Interim Communications Director for Tompkins County. 1st priority is to raise moral level of Dispatchers. Would like to build a display of Department patches to demonstrate the network of organizations served at the Dispatch Center. All Departments please contact Brian to get your patch to him. Looking to develop better relations between Dispatchers and Fire/EMS personnel.

Demonstration by Jack Crance of Spillman/Nature codes and response plans. Jack will be distributing current response plans and maps to each Department for review. Also need “point person' from each Department to work with Tompkins Cty GIS personnel to develop and/or fine tune boundaries and to be main Spillman 'super user'.

Testing of response plan format will begin with Ithaca Station 9 due to number of calls.

No Old Business

New Business:

Cornell Commencement looking for Volunteer Fire Police for a few hours on Memorial Day Sunday. Secretary to forward request to T. Parsons IFD.

Question regarding status of Fire Alarm System: Letters sent to Alarm companies and local businesses telling them that no new direct alarms will be monitored/received. Tompkins Cty. Legislature voted in 2010 to get out of the alarm system business with the exceptions of County owned property and PERS alarms. (City is already out of fire alarm system)

Elections of Officers:
Motion by G. Tamborelle, 2nd by T. Parsons, Secretary to cast one ballot for the current slate of Officers.

Meeting adjourned at 20:40

Comments are closed.